



October 2, 2020

Our Fellow Americans,

We, the undersigned, are members of Issue One's bipartisan ReFormers Caucus — a group of more than 200 former members of Congress, Cabinet officials, and governors united around our common mission to fix our broken political system. We write today to strongly urge patience, peace, and respect for the constitutional process of electing a president.

Despite the current rhetoric surrounding this election, our democratic republic remains strong. For decades, state and local election officials have safely and securely run our elections. While this election may require more time to count every vote cast given the influx of absentee ballots because of the current pandemic, that does not diminish the integrity of the process. In both the 2016 and 2018 elections, about one in every four votes was cast using absentee ballots. The portion of Americans choosing to cast their votes using absentee ballots this year is expected to be much higher. Registered voters using absentee ballots to cast their votes does not jeopardize the credibility of elections.

Once every vote is counted and the results have been certified by state election officials, the United States must continue with one of the greatest American traditions — the peaceful transfer or retention of power. As Senator Manchin recently said, "the bedrock of [our] democracy is the orderly and peaceful transfer of power." For over 200 years, every presidential candidate has participated in the electoral process and honored the results. This year's election should be no different. We echo Senate Majority Leader McConnell's statement that "there will be an orderly transition [this election] just as there has been every four years since 1792."

During this time of uncertainty, there is one thing we can rely on — the integrity of our elections. A failure to have a peaceful transfer or retention of power could irrevocably damage the nation. A divided and dysfunctional United States only weakens us at home and abroad — and makes our enemies stronger. For these reasons, we call on our elected leaders to respect the results of the election — no matter who wins. And we call on all Americans to trust in our democratic process. Together, we can do this.

Sincerely,

Rep. Jason Altmire (D-PA)	Rep. Jim Kolbe (R-AZ)
Rep. Les AuCoin (D-OR)	Rep. Mike Kopetski (D-OR)
Rep. Brian Baird (D-WA)	Sec. Ray LaHood (R-IL)
Rep. Mike Barnes (D-MD)	Gov. Richard Lamm (D-CO)
Sen. Mark Begich (D-AK)	Rep. Rick Lazio (R-NY)





Rep. Doug Bereuter (R-NE) Rep. Don Bonker (D-WA) Sen. Bill Bradley (D-NJ) Sec. Bill Brock (R-TN) Gov. John Carlin (D-KS) Gov. Arne Carlson (R-MN)

Rep. Bob Carr (D-MI)

Rep. John Cavanaugh (D-NE) Rep. Ben Chandler (D-KY) Rep. Rod Chandler (R-WA) Rep. Tom Coleman (R-MO) Rep. Sam Coppersmith (D-AZ)

Rep. Jerry Costello (D-IL) Rep. Jim Davis (D-FL) Rep. Lincoln Davis (D-TN) Rep. Tom Davis (R-VA)

Rep. Charlie Dent (R-PA)
Sen. Byron Dorgan (D-ND)

Sen. David Durenberger (R-MN)

Rep. David Emery (R-ME) Rep. Vic Fazio (D-CA) Sen. Russ Feingold (D-WI)

Rep. Wayne Gilchrest (R-MD) Sec. Dan Glickman (D-KS)

Rep. Jim Greenwood (R-PA) Sec. Chuck Hagel (R-NE) Sen. Gary Hart (D-CO)

Rep. Dennis Hertel (D-MI) Rep. Paul Hodes (D-NH)

Rep. Rush Holt (D-NJ)

Rep. Elizabeth Holtzman (D-NY) Rep. Jerry Huckaby (D-LA) Rep. Randy Hultgren (R-IL) Sen. Bennett Johnston (D-LA)

Rep. Barbara Kennelly (D-CT)

Rep. Steve Kuykendall (R-CA)

Rep. Ron Klein (D-FL)

Rep. Jim Leach (R-IA)

Rep. Sandy Levin (D-MI)

Rep. Mel Levine (D-CA)

Sen. Blanche Lincoln (D-AR)

Rep. Andy Maguire (D-NJ)

Rep. Marjorie Margolies (D-PA)

Rep. Matthew McHugh (D-NY)
Rep. Susan Molinari (R-NY)

Amb. Connie Morella (R-MD)

Rep. Patrick E. Murphy (D-FL)

Rep. Patrick J. Murphy (D-PA)

Rep. Sue Myrick (R-NC)

Rep. Glenn Nye (D-VA)

Rep. Tom Osborne (R-NE)

Sec. Leon Panetta (D-CA)

Rep. Tim Petri (R-WI)

Sen. Larry Pressler (R-SD)

Rep. Deborah Pryce (R-OH)

Rep. Reid Ribble (R-WI)

Gov. Bill Ritter (D-CO)

Amb. Tim Roemer (D-IN)

Rep. Claudine Schneider (R-RI)

Rep. Patricia Schroeder (D-CO)

Rep. Joe Schwarz (R-MI)

Rep. Phil Sharp (D-IN)

Rep. Chris Shays (R-CT)

Rep. Karen Shepherd (D-UT)

Rep. Peter Smith (R-VT)

Rep. Cliff Stearns (R-FL)

Rep. Charlie Stenholm (D-TX)

Gov. Bob Taft (R-OH)

Rep. Robin Tallon (D-SC)

Rep. Todd Tiahrt (R-KS)

Rep. Bob Walker (R-PA)

Rep. Zach Wamp (R-TN)

Gov. Christie Whitman (R-NJ)