1



The Honorable Kay Granger Chair House Committee on Appropriations H-307, The Capitol Washington, D.C., 20515

The Honorable Mark Amodei Chairman House Subcommittee on the Legislative Branch H-307, The Capitol Washington, D.C., 20515 The Honorable Rosa DeLauro Ranking Member House Committee on Appropriations H-307, The Capitol Washington, D.C., 20515

The Honorable Adriano Espaillat Ranking Member House Subcommittee on the Legislative Branch H-307, The Capitol Washington, D.C., 20515

Re: Issue One's ReFormers Caucus commend the House of Representatives for continuing investment in the First Branch

Dear Chair Granger, Ranking Member DeLauro, Chair Amodei, and Ranking Member Espaillat:

We write to thank you for your leadership and commitment to strengthening the first branch by retaining funding for the Members' Representational Allowance (MRA) and Modernization Initiatives Account (MIA) in the FY2024 House Legislative Branch Appropriations bill. These continued investments will help implement critical Congressional modernization efforts already underway and recruit and develop robust and knowledgeable staff that are equipped to take on the country's largest policy priorities.

The MRA has increased in the last few years, beginning with an allocation of \$774.4 million for FY2022 and a modest bump for FY2023 with \$810 million.¹ These investments have helped boost staff pay and attract and retain a talented and diverse congressional workforce. Thus, competitive pay is not only essential to maintaining institutional knowledge, but also enhancing the productivity and efficiency of Congress and meeting evolving constituent needs.

We also commend the retention of funding for the MIA, which sets aside resources to advance modernization projects for meaningful and lasting change in Congress. The MIA is the result of a recommendation from the bipartisan Select Committee on the Modernization of Congress.² It secures \$10 million to implement operational and technological improvements that make Congress more effective and efficient, including the implementation of a collaborative legislative drafting system and a legislative staff directory.³

We encourage you to continue finding commonsense, bipartisan solutions that restore Congress' Article I role, strengthen oversight, and better serve constituents. A robust, effective first branch relies on a capable workforce with the tools to take on complex policy issues, and we are grateful for your continued investment in the institution and the people that support it. Thank you for your dedication to this important work.

¹ See: Congressional Research Service "Members' Representational Allowance: History and Usage", available at: https://sgp.fas.org/crs/misc/R40962.pdf

 $^{^2}$ See: Select Committee on the Modernization of Congress final report, available at: https://www.politico.com/f/?id=00000185-2f47-de47-a3e7-6fc-75f9a0000

³ Ibid.

Sincerely,

The Honorable Jason Altmire (D-PA) The Honorable Matthew F. McHugh (D-NY) The Honorable Brian N. Baird (D-WA) The Honorable Constance Morella (R-MD) The Honorable Mark Begich (D-AK) The Honorable Carol Moseley-Braun (D-IL) The Honorable John Russell Carnahan (D-MO) The Honorable Patrick J. Murphy (D-PA) The Honorable William Lacy Clay, Jr. (D-MO) The Honorable Leon E. Panetta (D-CA) The Honorable Barbara Jean Comstock (R-VA) The Honorable Larry Pressler (R-SD) The Honorable Donna Edwards (D-MD) The Honorable Deborah Pryce (R-OH) The Honorable Richard A. Gephardt (D-MO) The Honorable Reid J. Ribble (R-WI) The Honorable James W. Gerlach (R-PA) The Honorable August W. Ritter (D-CO) The Honorable John P. Gingrey (R-GA) The Honorable Roy R. Romer (D-CO) The Honorable Steven Craig Gunderson (R-WI) The Honorable Timothy Roemer (D-IN) The Honorable Jane M. L. Harman (D-CA) The Honorable Claudine Schneider (R-RI) The Honorable Michael Harrington (D-MA) The Honorable Chris Shays (R-CT) The Honorable Dennis M. Hertel (D-MI) The Honorable David Skaggs (D-CO) The Honorable Paul W. Hodes (D-NH) The Honorable Peter P. Smith (R-VT) The Honorable Elizabeth Holtzman (D-NY) The Honorable Robin Tallon (D-SC) The Honorable John B. Johnston (D-LA) The Honorable Mark Udall (D-CO) The Honorable Mary L. Landrieu (D-LA) The Honorable James T. Walsh (R-NY) The Honorable Rick Lazio (R-NY) The Honorable Zach Wamp (R-TN) The Honorable Marjorie Margolies (D-PA) The Honorable Timothy E. Wirth (D-CO)

Cc: Members of the Appropriations Committee

Members of the House Administration Committee

Members of the House Administration Subcommittee on Modernization

Speaker Kevin McCarthy

Minority Leader Hakeem Jeffries