

The Honorable Stephanie Bice Chair Subcommittee on Modernization 2437 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, D.C. 20515 The Honorable Derek Kilmer Ranking Member Subcommittee on Modernization 1226 Longworth House Office Building Washington, D.C. 20515

## Re: Issue One's ReFormers Caucus Call to Adopt Recommendations for Collaboration and Civility in Congress

Dear Chair Bice and Ranking Member Kilmer:

We, the undersigned, former public officials, many of whom served in Congress, write to reiterate our deep support for the work of the Subcommittee on Modernization, and to particularly emphasize the importance of adopting recommendations that foster collaboration and civility in the institution in the wake of ongoing tensions between federal lawmakers. Throughout the 118th Congress, we have witnessed two near-fistfights, 19 votes for the speakership, and, up until now, 39 retirement announcements. The challenges we face as a nation require a united and cooperative effort from our elected representatives, and it is essential that Congress take proactive steps to rebuild public faith in our democratic processes and ensure that the legislative branch remains an efficient and responsive institution.

The evident lack of bipartisan collaboration erodes confidence in Congress, which the institution can ill-afford. A <u>Pew Research Center report</u> in September 2023 found that only 26% of U.S. adults have a favorable opinion of Congress, while 72% have an unfavorable view. These figures are alarming and should prompt federal lawmakers to explore strategies that uphold the credibility of the legislative branch, designed to represent and serve the interests of the people.

The <u>ReFormers Caucus</u> is dedicated to the proposition that tangible bipartisan reforms encouraging good governance will help restore the public's confidence in Congress and improve the operations of the institution. Enhancing collaboration in Congress can enable a healthier and more civil environment which benefits members, the congressional community, and our national interest. Strengthening bipartisan collaboration will lay the groundwork for Congress to tackle rapidly evolving policy challenges, including grappling with the rise of generative artificial intelligence and protecting our critical infrastructure from cyberthreats.

The Select Committee on the Modernization of Congress made significant strides in identifying key challenges and proposing thoughtful solutions to improve the functionality of the legislative branch. The select committee's recommendations, focused on enhancing transparency, accountability, and efficiency, are crucial for the effective functioning of our democracy. We commend the Subcommittee on Modernization, under the leadership of Chair Bice and Ranking Member Kilmer, for continuing this important work and ensuring that these recommendations are not only acknowledged but also implemented.

We urge you and your colleagues serving on the subcommittee to continue the implementation of recommendations that promote collaboration and civility in Congress, including the following:

- Convene a bicameral, bipartisan group of members to discuss rules changes to require reciprocated consideration for widely supported, bipartisan legislation.
- Provide clearer accounting of member contributions and involvement in legislation for public awareness and transparency through *Congress.gov*.
- Provide committees with flexibility to host periodic events to foster collaboration and further develop working relationships among committee members.
- Create a bipartisan, public-facing website with nonpartisan information about each committee and its operations.
- Examine best practices from state legislatures to sustain relatively functional cultures of bipartisan work despite deep divisions.

Thank you for your attention to this matter. We trust that your leadership can take on this task in the name of our democracy.

## Sincerely,

The Honorable Jason Altmire (D-PA)	The Honorable Barbara Comstock (R-VA)
The Honorable Brian Baird (D-WA)	The Honorable Sam Coppersmith (D-AZ)
The Honorable Gresham Barrett (R-SC)	The Honorable Carlos Curbelo (R-FL)
The Honorable Charles F. Bass (R-NH)	The Honorable Thomas A. Daschle (D-SD)
The Honorable Mark Begich (D-AK)	The Honorable Susan Davis (D-CA)
The Honorable Douglas K. Bereuter (R-NE)	The Honorable Jim Davis (D-FL)
The Honorable Charles Boustany (R-LA)	The Honorable Lincoln Davis (D-TN)
The Honorable Cheryl L. Bustos (D-IL)	The Honorable Charles W. Dent (R-PA)
The Honorable Michael Capuano (D-MA)	The Honorable Byron Dorgan (D-ND)
The Honorable John W. Carlin (D-KA)	The Honorable Donna F. Edwards (D-MD)
The Honorable Arne H. Carlson (R-MN)	The Honorable Karan English (D-AZ)
The Honorable Bob Carr (D-MI)	The Honorable Russ Feingold (D-WI)
The Honorable John J. Cavanaugh (D-NE)	The Honorable Harold Ford (D-TN)
The Honorable Ben Chandler (D-KY)	The Honorable Richard A. Gephardt (D-MO)
The Honorable William Lacy Clay (D-MO)	The Honorable Phil Gingrey (R-GA)

The Honorable James C. Greenwood (R-PA)	The Honorable Constance Morella (R-MD)
The Honorable Steve Gunderson (R-WI)	The Honorable Carol Moseley-Braun (D-IL)
The Honorable Gary W. Hart (D-CO)	The Honorable Patrick E. Murphy (D-FL)
The Honorable Dennis M. Hertel (D-MI)	The Honorable Patrick J. Murphy (D-PA)
The Honorable Paul W. Hodes (D-NH)	The Honorable Glenn Nye (D-VA)
The Honorable Joseph Hoeffel (D-PA)	The Honorable Leon E. Panetta (D-CA)
The Honorable Elizabeth Holtzman (D-NY)	The Honorable Tom Petri (R-WI)
The Honorable Robert D. Inglis (R-SC)	The Honorable Earl Pomeroy (D-ND)
The Honorable Steven J. Israel (D-NY)	The Honorable Reid Ribble (R-WI)
The Honorable John B. Johnston (D-LA)	The Honorable August W. Ritter (D-CO)
The Honorable Ron Kind (D-WI)	The Honorable Timothy J. Roemer (D-IN)
The Honorable Ronald Klein (D-FL)	The Honorable Roy R. Romer (D-CO)
The Honorable Larry LaRocco (D-ID)	The Honorable Claudine Schneider (R-RI)
The Honorable Rick Lazio (R-NY)	The Honorable John J. Schwarz (R-MI)
The Honorable Mel Levine (D-CA)	The Honorable Chris Shays (R-CT)
The Honorable Blanche L. Lincoln (D-AR)	The Honorable Karen Shepherd (D-UT)
The Honorable Andrew Maguire (R-WY)	The Honorable David Skaggs (D-CO)
The Honorable Marjorie Margolies (D-PA)	The Honorable Peter Smith (R-VT)
The Honorable Matthew F. McHugh (D-NY)	The Honorable Olympia J. Snowe (R-ME)
The Honorable John R. McKernan Jr. (R-ME)	The Honorable Robin Tallon (D-SC)
The Honorable C. Tom McMillen (D-MD)	The Honorable Mark Udall (D-CO)
The Honorable Susan Molinari (R-NY)	The Honorable Zach Wamp (R-TN)

Cc: The Honorable Mike Johnson
The Honorable Hakeem Jeffries
Members of the House Administration Committee
Members of the House Administration Subcommittee on Modernization

The Honorable Jim P. Moran (D-VA)