Sign-on letters

Issue One’s ReFormers Caucus calls for return to bipartisanship and strong congressional leadership

Today, 200 members of Issue One’s ReFormers Caucus — the largest bipartisan group of former members of Congress, governors, and Cabinet officials ever assembled to advocate for political reform — sent an open letter to Congress imploring members to embrace bipartisanship and reject the unproven conspiracies that undermined trust in the 2020 elections and led to the violent attack on the U.S. Capitol on January 6th and the death of five Americans.

Led by ReFormers Caucus co-chairs former Representative Zach Wamp (R-TN) and former Representative and Ambassador to India Tim Roemer (D-IN), the letter states:

“We know how easy it has become to lapse into a mindset in which members of the opposing party are seen as enemies, rather than potential partners who have different views but hold a shared commitment to America and solving problems. The incentives that drive division in our politics are stronger than ever. The unchecked rise of social media has invited disinformation and created political echo chambers, while partisan redistricting and record spending in campaigns are alienating many voters. This cycle has to end. Treating one another as adversaries, and not fellow citizens, eliminates the possibility that Congress will work together to identify and act on areas of common ground for the common good. This urgently requires strong and bold leadership.”

The letter continued: “Restoring honorable norms, mutual respect and common civility in the Capitol is essential. It could also lead to opportunities to work across party lines on legislation to help our fellow citizens. Embracing the possibility of bipartisanship must begin with Congressional leadership. We call on Senate Leaders McConnell and Schumer, Speaker Pelosi, and Leader McCarthy to act not only as leaders of your respective parties, but as leaders of this entire country. We will encourage the same type of responsibility for groups like the Tea Party Caucus, the New Democrats Coalition, the Progressive Caucus and the Problem Solvers Caucus. These leaders must put country before party by truly respecting, listening to, and learning from their colleagues across the aisle.”

Read the full letter — and list of signatories — here.

In alphabetical order, the members of the ReFormers Caucus who signed the letter are:

Rep. Jason Altmire (D-PA)

Rep. Chester Atkins (D-MA)

Rep. Les Aucoin (D-OR)

Sec. Bruce Babbitt (D-AZ)

Rep. Brian Baird (D-WA)

Rep. Michael Barnes (D-MD)

Rep. Gresham Barrett (R-SC)

Rep. Joe Barton (R-TX)

Rep. Charles Bass (R-NH)

Rep. Bob Beauprez (R-CO)

Sen. Mark Begich (D-AK)

Rep. Doug Bereuter (R-NE)

Rep. Brian Bilbray (R-CA)

Sen. Jeff Bingaman (D-NM)

Amb. James Blanchard (D-MI)

Rep. Sherwood Boehlert (R-NY)

Rep. David Bonior (D-MI)

Rep. Don Bonker (D-WA)

Rep. Jo Bonner (R-AL)

Rep. Charles Boustany (R-LA)

Sen. Bill Bradley (D-NJ)

Sec. Bill Brock (R-TN)

Rep. Jack Buechner (R-MO)

Rep. Tom Campbell (R-CA)

Sen. Ben Nighthorse Campbell (R-CO)

Rep. Joseph Cao (R-LA)

Gov. John Carlin (D-KS)

Gov. Arne Carlson (R-MN)

Rep. Russ Carnahan (D-MO)

Rep. Robert Carr (D-MI)

Gov. Michael Castle (R-DE)

Rep. John Cavanaugh (D-NE)

Rep. Ben Chandler (D-KY)

Rep. Rod Chandler (R-WA)

Rep. Jon Christensen (R-NE)

Rep. Bob Clement (D-TN)

Rep. William Clinger (R-PA)

Sec. William Cohen (R-ME)

Rep. Tom Coleman (R-MO)

Sen. Kent Conrad (D-ND)

Rep. Sam Coppersmith (D-AZ)

Rep. Jerry Costello (D-IL)

Rep. Carlos Curbelo (R-FL)

Amb. John Danforth (R-MO)

Rep. Buddy Darden (D-GA)

Sen. Tom Daschle (D-SD)

Rep. Jim Davis (D-FL)

Rep. Lincoln Davis (D-TN)

Rep. Tom Davis (R-VA)

Rep. Charlie Dent (R-PA)

Rep. Charles Djou (R-HI)

Rep. Chris Dodd (D-CT)

Sen. Joe Donnelly (D-IN)

Sen. Byron Dorgan (D-ND)

Rep. Tom Downey (D-NY)

Gov. Michael Dukakis (D-MA)

Sen. David Durenberger (R-MN)

Rep. Donna Edwards (D-MD)

Rep. David Emery (R-ME)

Rep. Karan English (D-AZ)

Rep. Thomas Evans, Jr. (R-DE)

Rep. Victor Fazio (D-CA)

Sen. Russ Feingold (D-WI)

Rep. Stephen Fincher (R-TN)

Rep. Harold Ford, Jr. (D-TN)

Amb. Wyche Fowler (D-GA)

Rep. Martin Frost (D-TX)

Rep. Elizabeth Furse (D-OR)

Rep. Dick Gephardt (D-MO)

Rep. Wayne Gilchrest (R-MD)

Rep. Phil Gingrey (R-GA)

Sec. Dan Glickman (D-KS)

Rep. Bart Gordon (D-TN)

Rep. Gene Green (D-TX)

Rep. Jim Greenwood (R-PA)

Rep. Steve Gunderson (R-WI)

Sec. Chuck Hagel (R-NE)

Rep. Lee Hamilton (D-IN)

Rep. Jane Harman (D-CA)

Rep. Michael Harrington (D-MA)

Sen. Gary Hart (D-CO)

Rep. Joseph Heck (R-NV)

Rep. Joel Hefley (R-CO)

Rep. Dennis Hertel (D-MI)

Rep. Paul Hodes (D-NH)

Rep. Rush Holt, Jr. (D-NJ)

Rep. Elizabeth Holtzman (D-NY)

Rep. Darlene Hooley (D-OR)

Rep. Jerry Huckaby (D-LA)

Amb. Bill Hughes (D-NJ)

Rep. Randy Hultgren (R-IL)

Gov. Jim Hunt (D-NC)

Sen. Tim Hutchinson (R-AR)

Rep. Robert Inglis, Sr. (R-SC)

Rep. Steve Israel (D-NY)

Rep. Tim Johnson (R-IL)

Sen. J. Bennett Johnston (D-LA)

Rep. David Jolly (R-FL)

Amb. Jim Jones (D-OK)

Sen. Nancy Kassebaum Baker (R-KS)

Gov. Thomas Kean, Sr. (R-NJ)

Rep. Barbara Kennelly (D-CT)

Gov. Bob Kerrey (D-NE)

Rep. Ron Klein (D-FL)

Rep. Jim Kolbe (R-AZ)

Rep. Mike Kopetski (D-OR)

Rep. Peter Kostmayer (D-PA)

Amb. Madeleine Kunin (D-VT)

Rep. Steve Kuykendall (R-CA)

Sec. Ray LaHood (R-IL)

Gov. Richard Lamm (D-CO)

Rep. Martin Lancaster (D-NC)

Sen. Mary Landrieu (D-LA)

Rep. Larry Larocco (D-ID)

Rep. Rick Lazio (R-NY)

Rep. Jim Leach (R-IA)

Rep. John LeBoutillier (R-NY)

Sen. Carl Levin (D-MI)

Rep. Sandy Levin (D-MI)

Rep. Mel Levine (D-CA)

Sen. Blanche Lincoln (D-AR)

Rep. Bob Livingston (R-LA)

Sen. Trent Lott (R-MS)

Rep. Dan Maffei (D-NY)

Rep. Andrew Maguire (D-NJ)

Rep. Marjorie Margolies (D-PA)

Rep. Pete McCloskey (R-CA)

Sec. John McHugh (R-NY)

Rep. Matthew McHugh (D-NY)

Gov. John McKernan (R-ME)

Rep. Tom McMillen (D-MD)

Rep. Brad Miller (D-NC)

Rep. George Miller (D-CA)

Sec. Norm Mineta (D-CA)

Rep. Susan Molinari (R-NY)

VP Walter Mondale (D-MN)

Rep. Jim Moran (D-VA)

Amb. Connie Morella (R-MD)

Amb. Carol Mosely-Braun (D-IL)

Rep. Patrick J. Murphy (D-PA)

Rep. Patrick Murphy (D-FL)

Rep. George Nethercutt (R-WA)

Rep. Glenn Nye (D-VA)

Rep. Tom Osborne (R-NE)

Rep. Richard Ottinger (D-NY)

Sec. Leon Panetta (D-CA)

Gov. Deval Patrick (D-MA)

Rep. Tom Petri (R-WI)

Rep. Todd Platts (R-PA)

Rep. Earl Pomeroy (D-ND)

Rep. John Edward Porter (R-IL)

Rep. Jon Porter (R-NV)

Sen. Larry Pressler (R-SD)

Rep. Deborah Pryce (R-OH)

Sen. Mark Pryor (D-AR)

Rep. Jack Quinn (R-NY)

Rep. Jim Renacci (R-OH)

Rep. Reid Ribble (R-WI)

Gov. Tom Ridge (R-PA)

Gov. Bill Ritter (D-CO)

Amb. Tim Roemer (D-IN)

Gov. Roy Romer (D-CO)

Rep. Ron Sarasin (R-CT)

Rep. Bill Sarpalius (D-TX)

Amb. Jim Sasser (D-TN)

Sec. Ed Schafer (R-ND)

Rep. Claudine Schneider (R-RI)

Rep. Patricia Schroeder (D-CO)

Rep. Joe Schwarz (R-MI)

Rep. Philip Sharp (D-IN)

Rep. Chris Shays (R-CT)

Rep. Karen Shepherd (D-UT)

Rep. Gerry Sikorski (D-MN)

Sen. Alan Simpson (R-WY)

Rep. David Skaggs (D-CO)

Rep. Jim Slattery (D-KS)

Rep. Peter Smith (R-VT)

Sen. Olympia Snowe (R-ME)

Rep. John Spratt, Jr. (D-SC)

Rep. Cliff Stearns (R-FL)

Rep. Charles Stenholm (D-TX)

Sen. Adlai Stevenson III (D-IL)

Rep. Bart Stupak (D-MI)

Amb. Richard Swett (D-NH)

Gov. Bob Taft (R-OH)

Rep. Robin Tallon (D-SC)

Rep. John Tanner (D-TN)

Rep. Lee Terry (R-NE)

Rep. Karen Thurman (D-FL)

Rep. Todd Tiahrt (R-KS)

Rep. John Tierney (D-MA)

Sen. Mark Udall (D-CO)

Rep. Bob Walker (R-PA)

Rep. Zach Wamp (R-TN)

Rep. Henry Waxman (D-CA)

Gov. Christine Todd Whitman (R-NJ)

Rep. Pat Williams (D-MT)

Sen. Tim Wirth (D-CO)

Gov. Robert Wise (D-WV)

Rep. Lynn Woolsey (D-CA)

Rep. Bill Zeliff (R-NH)